The Alabama Quality Award (modeled after the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award) has been administered by the Alabama Productivity Center since 1986. The Award recognizes and honors organizations whose past or recent innovations in areas of production, service or management have resulted in increased productivity and quality.

For the purpose of the award, increased productivity and quality means getting more mileage out of the firm’s resources, whether those resources are energy, capital, materials or people. The award was established to promote the awareness of performance excellence as an increasingly important element in competitiveness. Not only does it recognize excellent organizations, the Award also aims to increase the understanding of the requirements for performance excellence.

The Award promotes :

  1. Understanding of the requirements for performance excellence and competitiveness improvement
  2. Sharing of information on successful performance strategies and the benefits derived from using these strategies.

Alabama Quality Award: Categories

  1. Small Business Sector
  2. Service Sector
  3. Manufacturing Sector
  4. Non-Profit
  5. Education
  6. Health Care


Four Levels of Recognition:

  1. Level 1- Commitment to Excellence
  2. Level 2- Progress Toward Excellence
  3. Level 3- Alabama Excellence Award
  4. Award of Excellence for Continuous Productivity and Quality Improvement

AQA winners will participate in Annual Conference 2011, which will be held in December 2011 at Tuscaloosa. A presentation will be made by the winners at the Conference.


   The applicant’s efforts must be implemented within the State of Alabama, but the organizations may have affiliates, divisions, or headquarters in other states.

Previous winners of the Alabama Quality Award are eligible to reapply three years after being named an Award winner. In the meantime, previous winners may apply for the Award of Excellence in Continuous productivity and Quality Improvement each year until they are once again eligible to reapply for the Alabama Quality Award.

Eligibility Determination

To ensure that Award recipients meet all reasonable requirements and expectations in representing the Award throughout the State of Alabama, potential applicants must have their eligibility approved prior to applying for the Award.

Potential applicants for the 2011 Award are encouraged to submit their Pre-Application/Eligibility Determination Form as early as possible, but no later than February 28, 2011. This form is found in the back of the 2011 Alabama Quality Award Application Guideline Booklet.